The Weekday Dieter…

“Diet starts Monday.”

Who has either said or heard someone say this at least once? I’m going to go ahead and guess it’s more than just a few of you. This blog post may be about you, or someone you know, but you can probably see someone either in the mirror or in your life who we would refer to as a “weekday dieter”.

Normally, the “weekday dieter” starts the week off right. Super motivated and pumped up to be compliant to their meal plan or nutrition guidelines to keep them focused and moving forward toward their goals. Tuesday passes, Wednesday and Thursday stay strong and it usually goes until Friday at about dinner time.

“Wow, what a great week! I was nearly perfect… time to reward myself with a pizza!”

If that treat meal ended there… I’d be alright with it. But unfortunately it often is followed up by a few drinks that night, pancakes for brunch saturday morning followed by a high carb dinner that night, Sunday maybe you sleep until noon and skip breakfast and then spend the day nursing your relationship with nachos and netflix. But don’t sweat it right? Monday is merely hours away and you’re ready to get back on track.

Most of these weekday dieters take a break from their plan friday night, saturday and sunday… so basically two and a half days a week. How bad can that be?  You’re being great for alllmost 5 days a week… we round up from four and a half.  😉 Five out of seven? Sounds like a win to me. That can’t really make that much of a difference… right…?

Two and a half days a week = Ten days a month.

Ten days a month = One hundred and twenty days a year.

One hundred and twenty days a year = Four months.

So you’re literally taking a break from your diet for a third of the year.

I’m just going let that sink in for a second. Feel that? That’s the feeling of your ridiculous justifications shattering. 😉 I’m not saying you’re alone, I’ll admit I’ve had times in my journey where I was a “weekday dieter” and it was super fun and a great way to not lose weight……

I don’t know about you… but I don’t usually put less than my best into what I do. The reason I was so successful when I got started toward my fitness journey was because I gave it my all. If you’re the kind of person who is cool with putting in work two thirds of the time, you better be the kind of person who is cool with getting two thirds of the results. Somehow I doubt that’s the case.

If you want results, and I mean head-turning, jaw-dropping, before-and-after-picture-taking results, you have to give more than 66% towards that goal. Being great during the week and losing all willpower every weekend isn’t going to get you to where you want to be if your goal is anything other than maintenance. If you’re reading this blog you probably have a goal you’re searching for motivation to move towards. Well, ladies and gentlemen, here it is. I’m not asking for 100%… but I need more than 66. Shoot for 80. Be great 80% of the time and enjoy some treats for the other 20. Baby steps will get you there, but if those steps are shallow enough for a teacup pig to race you up… you need to set your sights higher. Set realistic goals, control your treat meals and don’t waste a third of your year making choices that take you further from your goals… not closer to them.

Make good choices kids ;)…. oh and you should probably go lift something. 😉

https://i0.wp.com/memecrunch.com/meme/2T8EZ/diet-starts-monday/image.png

2 thoughts on “The Weekday Dieter…

Leave a Reply

